The Divine Mercy Novena

Published on April 9, 2020

The Divine Mercy Novena

Jesus asked that the Feast of the Divine Mercy be preceded by a Novena to the Divine Mercy which would begin on Good Friday. Our Lord Jesus gave St. Faustina an intention to pray for on each day of the Novena.

In her diary, St. Faustina wrote that Jesus told her:

“On each day of the novena you will bring to My heart a different group of souls and you will immerse them in this ocean of My mercy … On each day you will beg My Father, on the strength of My passion, for the graces for these souls.”

The different souls prayed for on each day of the novena are:

  • DAY 1 (Good Friday) – All mankind, especially sinners

  • DAY 2 (Holy Saturday) – The souls of priests and religious

  • DAY 3 (Easter Sunday) – All devout and faithful souls

  • DAY 4 (Easter Monday) – Those who do not believe in Jesus and those who do not yet know Him

  • DAY 5 (Easter Tuesday) – The souls of separated brethren

  • DAY 6 (Easter Wednesday) – The meek and humble souls and the souls of children

  • DAY 7 (Easter Thursday) – The souls who especially venerate and glorify Jesus’ mercy

  • DAY 8 (Easter Friday) – The souls who are detained in purgatory;

  • DAY 9 (Easter Saturday) – The souls who have become lukewarm.

The Divine Mercy 9-day prayers can be found here

The chaplet can be found here

A special Mass will be celebrated on Divine Mercy Sunday, April 19th at 3.00 p.m.